Mississippi Democratic Party
The Party of Progress

Sunflower County

Ground Zero

of the Movement

A place of legends and Democrats

Sunflower County is one of the most heavily Democratic Counties in Mississippi with all its elected county leaders hailing from our party. Sunflower County elected officials are 100 percent Democrats and it has a large and active Democratic Executive Committee.

The county's history, however is rife with political contradictions. On the one hand, it is the birthplace of the national Citizens' Council movement and the home of U.S. Sen. James O. Eastland and U.S. District Court Judge William Harold Cox. On the other hand, it was a hotbed of the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s which culminated in Freedom Summer in 1964 and the home of Fannie Lou Hamer and Charles McLaurin.

It also has a rich cultural history. Located in the Heart of the Mississippi Delta, it nurtured such music legends as Charley PattonB.B. King, Pop Staples and Johnny Russell. It also is the home of Craig Claiborne (gourmet, chef and former longtime Food Editor for the New York Times), author Steve Yarbrough and actor Willie Best. Sunflower County also counts as its native son renowned athletes Archie Manning, Sam LaceyCoolidge Ball and Micheal Spurlock.

Must-see attractions in Sunflower County include the world-class B.B. King Museum and Delta Heritage Center in the county seat of Indianola, historic blues site Dockery Farms near Ruleville and the Fannie Lou Hamer Memorial Garden and Museum in Ruleville.

Elected Democrats in or representing Sunflower County


David Rushing, Chair

  • dkrushing@suddenlink.net
  • P.O. Box 1501, Indianola, MS 38751

Mississippi Democratic Party County Committees

A-C | D-I | J-L | M-P | Q-T | U-Y