Mississippi Democratic Party
The Party of Progress

Hamer-Winter Dinner Highlights

Food, fellowship and honors

Hamer-Winter a big success

More than 700 people attended the Fannie Lou Hamer-William F. Winter Dinner sponsored by the Mississippi Democratic Party on Jan. 27 in Brandon.

Topping the bill was recently elected U.S. Senator Doug Jones of Alabama, whose successful campaign to reclaim one of the deep red state's two senatorial seats for Democrats drew national and international attention.

At the annual fundraiser, the party presented awards in several categories to Mississippians who play major roles in helping our cause. They include:

  • CLAUDE RAMSEY AWARD presented to Brenda Scott. The award is given to an individual Labor Union member or organization who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the goals and objectives of the Democratic Party.

  • THE WILLIAM F. WINTER LEGENDARY PUBLIC OFFICIAL AWARD presented to Melton Harris. This award is given to an elected official or former elected official who has demonstrated through action, word and deed a lasting and sustained commitment to the ideals, goals and objectives of the Democratic Party.

  • THE FANNIE LOU HAMER AWARD presented to Alice Tidwell. This prestigious award is given to an individual member of the Democratic Party who best exemplifies and continues to carry forth the work, spirit and ideals of Fannie Lou Hamer.

  • THE STANFORD YOUNG AWARD went to Vicki Slater and is presented to a Democratic attorney who has consistently demonstrated through service, loyalty and dedication a genuine commitment to the ideals and goals of the Democratic Party.

  • THE EVELYN GANDY LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD presented to Dr. Corinne Anderson. It is given annually to a female Democratic activist in recognition of a lifetime of loyalty, service, giving, involvement, and commitment to the goals and objectives of the Democratic Party.

  • THE YOUNG DEMOCRATS AWARD went to Jon Delpergang. It is awarded annually to the Young Democrat who exemplifies through service, loyalty and dedication a genuine commitment to the ideals and goals of the Democratic Party.

  • THE CHAIRMAN'S AWARD given to Amy Adelman for her sustained contribution to the Mississippi Democratic Party.

More images from the dinner


Come on in

The Grass Roots

This is where it all begins and all else follows. They are the engine of the party. Our ranks are open to everyone. Learn about your local Democratic party, how you can help and how you can join.


Young Dems in action

As goes our youth, so goes our future. The Mississippi Democratic party is committed to identifying, encouraging and supporting youth involvement at all levels. Join them in their most important work.

Our County Leadership

Mississippi Democrats have a long, strong tradition of dedicated local leadership. Committed, diverse and with roots deep in their communities, county committees form the backbone of our party.


Women at work

We all know that women do all the work that really counts and that's especially true in the Democratic Party. The Mississippi Federation of Democratic Women is essential to or commitment to maintaining and advancing women's rights as well as those of every one.

Our state leadership

We elect these women and men starting at the grass roots level to be our out-front torch bearers. Composed of working people, retirees and professionals, our leadership is direct evidence  of the dynamic diversity of our party.


The Yellow Dogs

These life-long,  committed, Democrats stick with us even if the levees break. They fill the sand bags and tote them to the crevasse not only by generous donations but by reliable and invaluable volunteerism. They and other affiliate groups help us keep the furrows straight.