Mississippi Democratic Party
The Party of Progress

Campaign 2019

State District Democratic List

State District Democratic Candidates

Listed below are the names of those who have filed their Applications of Qualification for Candidacy for state district office in the Aug. 6, 2019 Democratic Primary.

Please direct and corrections to:


State|Senate|House|Elections Page

For Public Service Commissioner (Northern District)

  • Brandon E. Presley, Nettleton

For Public Service Commissioner (Central District)

  • Dorothy “Dot” Benford, Jackson

  • Ryan Brown, Brandon

  • Bruce Burton, Jackson

  • De’Keither A. Stamps, Jackson

For Public Service Commissioner (Southern District)

  • Connie Moran, Ocean Springs

  • Sugar Stallings, Biloxi

For State Transportation Commissioner (Northern District)

  • Joe T. “Joey” Grist, Tupelo

For State Transportation Commissioner (Central District)

  • Willie L. Simmons, Cleveland

  • Marcus L. Wallace, Jackson

For District Attorney

Circuit Court Districts Map

Circuit Court District 4

  • Dewayne Richardson, Greenville

Circuit Court District 5

  • Charles Douglas Evans, Grenada

Circuit Court District 6

  • Shameca Collins, Natchez

  • Ronnie L. Harper, Natchez

Circuit Court District 7

  • Stanley Alexander

  • Jody Owens, Jackson

  • Darla Palmer, Jackson

Circuit Court District 9

  • Richard “Ricky” Smith Jr., Vicksburg

Circuit Court District 10

  • Michael Grace

Circuit Court District 11

  • Brenda F. Mitchell, Cleveland

Circuit Court District 13

  • Matt Sullivan, Mize

Circuit Court District 14

  • Dee Bates, Summit

Circuit Court District 16

  • Scott Colom, Columbus

Circuit Court District 17

  • John William Champion, Senatobia

Circuit Court District 21

  • Akillie Malone Oliver, Benton

Circuit Court District 22

  • Daniella M. Shorter, Port Gibson

Y'all Come!

Coming Events this week:

  • There are no scheduled events this week

For a quick look and details, click the date on the interactive calendar

Come on in

The Grass Roots

This is where it all begins and all else follows. They are the engine of the party. Our ranks are open to everyone. Learn about your local Democratic party, how you can help and how you can join.


Young Dems in action

As goes our youth, so goes our future. The Mississippi Democratic party is committed to identifying, encouraging and supporting youth involvement at all levels. Join them in their most important work.

Our County Leadership

Mississippi Democrats have a long, strong tradition of dedicated local leadership. Committed, diverse and with roots deep in their communities, county committees form the backbone of our party.


Women at work

We all know that women do all the work that really counts and that's especially true in the Democratic Party. The Mississippi Federation of Democratic Women is essential to or commitment to maintaining and advancing women's rights as well as those of every one.

Our state leadership

We elect these women and men starting at the grass roots level to be our out-front torch bearers. Composed of working people, retirees and professionals, our leadership is direct evidence  of the dynamic diversity of our party.

The Yellow Dogs

These life-long,  committed, Democrats stick with us even if the levees break. They fill the sand bags and tote them to the crevasse not only by generous donations but by reliable and invaluable volunteerism. They and other affiliate groups help us keep the furrows straight.